You are here

Energy Security Board (ESB)


Energy Security Board (ESB)


A new Energy Security Board (ESB), to be chaired by Dr Kerry Schott, has been established by the COAG Energy Council to coordinate the implementation of the reform blueprint produced by Australia's Chief Scientist.

The ESB will also provide whole of system oversight for energy security and reliability to drive better outcomes for consumers. The establishment of the ESB was agreed at the Energy Council meeting on 14 July 2017 and comprises an Independent Chair, Independent Deputy Chair and the heads of the Australian Energy Market Commission, Australian Energy Regulator and Australian Energy Market Operator.

Pageview Total: 110

Other text

17 Oct 2017

The Energy Security Board (ESB) has provided advice to Ministers on reliability, affordability and meeting Australia's international commitments. This comes in response to the Australian Energy Market Operator’s recent report on the risks to reliability in the electricity market. Specifically...

Geographic Coverage: 
Broad Subject Area(s):