National Growth Areas Alliance


Australian cities are experiencing a sustained period of rapid urban growth, particularly on the urban fringe.

This growth is predicted to remain strong for the next 25 years or more. NGAA represents the interests of these fast growing local government areas across Australia.

The NGAA formed in response to a recognition by these local governments that the cost of building socially vibrant, economically viable and environmentally sustainable communities is high and is projected to increase.

The National Growth Areas Alliance represents 25 of Australia's fastest growing municipalities.

These municipalities currently house about 3.5 million people. Over the next 20 years NGAA's population will grow at double the national rate. 25 per cent of Australia's metropolitan population is represented by NGAA.

While individual circumstances may differ, all NGAA 25 member councils share the common characteristic of growth and the need to deal with the social, physical and planning challenges that come with it.

NGAA is represented on the Australian Council for Local Government Steering Committee.

New South Wales

  • Blacktown City Council
  • Camden Council
  • Campbelltown City Council
  • Liverpool City Council
  • Penrith City Council


  • City of Casey
  • Cardinia Shire Council
  • Wyndham City Council
  • Shire of Melton
  • Hume City Council
  • City of Whittlesea


  • Moreton Bay Regional Council
  • Logan City Council
  • Ipswich City Council

Western Australia

  • City of Wanneroo
  • City of Swan
  • City of Cockburn
  • City of Mandurah
  • Serpentine-Jarrahdale Shire
  • Town of Kwinana
  • City of Armadale
  • City of Rockingham
  • City of Gosnells

South Australia

  • District Council of Mount Barker
  • City of Playford
Publication Details