Parliamentary remuneration and entitlements: 2014 update

17 Dec 2014

Introduction: The issue of parliamentary salaries, allowances and entitlements continues to generate interest and comment. This research paper sets out major changes to the parliamentary remuneration and entitlements regime, including the authority and governing legislation and explains how different aspects of parliamentary remuneration and entitlements are regulated.

Executive responsibility

The responsible Ministers, with selected administered legislation, are:

The Prime Minister, the Hon Tony Abbott, MP Governor-General Act 1974, Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973, Remuneration and Allowances Act 1990

The Minister for Finance, Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann Parliamentary Allowances Act 1952, Parliamentary Superannuation Act 2004, Parliamentary Contributory Superannuation Act 1948, Parliamentary Entitlements Act 1990, Ministers of State Act 1952, Members of Parliament (Life Gold Pass) Act 2002, Members of Parliament (Staff) Act 1984.

The Special Minister of State, the Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson has specific responsibility for administering some allowances and benefits under this legislation.

Parliamentary departments

The Department of the Senate and the Department of the House of Representatives pay the base salary and electorate allowance to parliamentarians and additional salary to ministers and parliamentary secretaries and Parliamentary office holders. The Parliamentary Departments also pay some other benefits such as postage.

Department of Finance

Ministerial and Parliamentary Services (M&PS) in the Department of Finance (Finance) provides advice on entitlements to the responsible Minister and to senators, members, office holders and their respective staff. M&PS also oversees the provision of a number of senators’ and members’ entitlements and administers the accountability mechanisms.[2]

Publication Details
Published year only: 
Subject Areas
Geographic Coverage