Chinese aid in the Pacific

1 February 2015

China has diplomatic relations with 8 Pacific island countries: the Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Fiji, Niue, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Samoa, Tonga, and Vanuatu. Others recognise Taiwan. China has held two main regional meetings (2006 & 2013) in which it announced a range of aid measures to strengthen economic development and diplomatic engagement with the region. China provides support to key regional organisations, particularly the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat. In addition to its bilateral aid program and support for regional organisations, China also provides scholarships for Pacific islands students and significant human resources training for government officials.

Publication Details

License type (if applicable): 

Cite this document

Suggested Citation

Philippa Brant, 2015, Chinese aid in the Pacific, Lowy Institute for International Policy, viewed 01 May 2017, <>.

Page Shares