Northern Territory election 2016

19 January 2017


The Northern Territory (NT) has a unicameral parliament—the Legislative Assembly—elected under the provisions of the Electoral Act (NT). The NT has a fixed election date, the fourth Saturday in August, every four years: the previous election was held on 25 August 2012. The Northern Territory is divided into 25 divisions for Legislative Assembly (Assembly) elections. The Parliament was prorogued on 8 August 2016 with the election held on 27 August 2016.

In the lead up to the 2016 election political commentators seemed united in predicting a Country Liberal Party (CLP) defeat—the only question appeared to be by how much. Polls suggested that leadership and cabinet instability could wipe out the CLP at the 2016 election.

Publication Details

Resource Type: 
License type (if applicable): 

Cite this document

Suggested Citation

Cathy Madden, 2017, Northern Territory election 2016, Parliamentary Library (Australia), viewed 24 April 2017, <>.

Page Shares