ACMA Annual Report Series

Broadcasting in Australia has been regulated by a designated statutory authority since the Australian Broadcasting Control Board (ABCB) was established by the federal government in 1949. Prior to this, broadcasting was overseen by the Post Master General’s Department (PMG). This collection was established on APO in April 2016 and includes annual reports of the ABCB (1949-1976) and subsequent regulatory authorities—the Australian Broadcasting Tribunal (ABT: 1977-1992), Australian Broadcasting Authority (ABA: 1992-2005) and the Australian Communications and Media Authority  (ACMA: 2005+). The digitisation and collection of these reports was undertaken by Dr Chris Wilson, Research Fellow, Centre for Urban Research, RMIT University; Sam Dellit, Broadcast Planning Engineer, ACMA; and Teresa Garcia, Librarian, ACMA.