Australia's Parliament House in 2016: a chronology of events

Parliament Politicians Federal government Australia

Parliament House, which was officially opened in 1988, is the home of the Parliament of Australia. It is located on a 32-hectare site on Capital Hill in Canberra.

In 2013 the Parliamentary Library published a chronology of events, Australia’s Parliament House—More Than 25 Years in the Making!, in recognition of the building’s 25th anniversary. Australia’s Parliament House in 2014 and 2015: a Chronology of Events highlighted significant milestones associated with Australia’s Parliament House and the Parliament itself between January 2014 and December 2015. This chronology continues the story, commencing in January 2016 and finishing in December 2016.

This chronology of events has been compiled from published sources and includes images and links to audio-visual and documentary records. Appendix 1 presents a list of key legislation passed by the Commonwealth Parliament in 2016.

Publication Details
License type:
All Rights Reserved