Tomorrow's Schools Independent Taskforce


Tomorrow’s Schools Independent Taskforce

Bali Haque, Chair

Bali has previously been the Principal of Tamatea High School, in Napier, Rosehill College, in Papakura, Pakuranga College in Auckland and Tereora College in Rarotonga. Bali has provided leadership to principals and teachers as the President and Executive member of the Secondary Principals Association of New Zealand (SPANZ), and as an Executive member of the PPTA. Bali has also worked at a senior level in Wellington as the Deputy Chief Executive of NZQA with responsibility for NCEA, New Zealand Scholarship, assessment and quality assurance, and international Qualification Recognition Services. He has presented extensively throughout the country to principals’ groups, school trustees, teachers/kaiako, and senior managers on a very wide range of topics including leadership and change management, strategic planning and selfreview, professional development and assessment practice. Author of “Changing our Secondary Schools” published by the New Zealand Council of Education Research (NZCER) in 2014, Bali critiques the education reform process in New Zealand since 1989. He also authored “New Zealand Secondary Schools and Your Child’ A Guide for Parents, published by David Bateman in 2017.

Barbara Ala’alatoa, mnzm, Member

Barbara Ala’alatoa is a New Zealand Samoan born and raised in Auckland. She has over 30 years’ experience in teaching, and working across the education sector. In 2015 she was appointed as inaugural Chair of the Education Council of Aotearoa New Zealand. Barbara is Principal at Sylvia Park Primary School. Amongst other achievements in this role, she and her team have designed a unique home school partnership based on the sharing of data in a comprehensive and methodical way with whānau – Mutukaroa. This work has resulted in significant shifts in student achievement and is currently being rolled out in clusters of schools across Aotearoa New Zealand. Her experience includes lecturing at Auckland College of Education and co-ordinating schooling improvement at the Ministry of Education. In 2014, she received the New Zealand Honour, Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to education.

Prof Mere Berryman, onzm, Member Iwi: Ngāi Tūhoe, Ngāti Awa, Ngāti Whare

Mere is a Professor at the University of Waikato and Director of Poutama Pounamu. She aims to challenge the pervasive and historical discourses that perpetuate educational disparities for Māori students and disrupt these through school leadership and reform initiatives. In her research, she combines understandings from kaupapa Māori and critical theories and has published widely in this field. In 2016, she received the New Zealand Honour, Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to education and to Māori in education.

Prof John O’Neill, Member

Professor John O’Neill is Head of the Institute of Education at Massey University. For over thirty five years he has been a teacher, teacher educator and educational leader in schools and universities in England and Aotearoa New Zealand. In 2012, he received the Teacher Education Forum of Aotearoa New Zealand career excellence award and a Massey University Research Excellence medal. He is an honorary member of the Normal and Model School Principals’ Association and an honorary life member of the New Zealand Association for Research in Education.

Dr Cathy Wylie, mnzm, Member

Dr Cathy Wylie is a Chief Researcher at NZCER. Her main research expertise is education policy and how it impacts on learning, teaching, school leadership and more equal learning opportunities. Cathy’s 2012 book, Vital Connections, makes a cogent case for system change to strengthen all our schools and counter uneven educational opportunities. Her longitudinal study ‘Competent Learners’ provides important understanding about different trajectories of engagement and achievement in learning from early childhood education into early adulthood, and provides strong evidence of the importance of developing the national curriculum’s key competencies. She received the New Zealand Association of Educational Researchers McKenzie Award in 2010 and was made a Member of the Order of New Zealand for services to education in 2014.

Items authored


7 Dec 2018

As part of the national Education Conversation | Kōrero Mātauranga, the NZ Government is reviewing Tomorrow’s Schools – the name given to the reforms that dramatically changed the governance, management and administration of our schools nearly 30 years ago.

Items authored


Items published/produced

Associated content