Overview: Transformative, long-term economic and institutional reforms that Australia must implement if it is to create a healthy environment with a productive economy.

This blueprint describes the magnitude of the environmental challenges we face, establishes the case that it is possible to grow the economy and protect the environment, and describes long-term institutional and economic reforms that we believe are essential to achieve this.

Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists

Dr Neil Byron, resource economist, former Productivity Commissioner, former A/Director General, Center for International Forestry Research, Bogor, Indonesia.

Mr Peter Cosier, Director, Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists, former Policy Advisor to the Australian Environment Minister.

Dr Richard Davis, hydrologist, former Chief Science Advisor, Australian National Water Commission, former Research Scientist, CSIRO Land and Water.

Prof Tim Flannery FAA, palaeontologist and writer, Chief Councillor, Australian Climate Council, 2007 Australian of the Year.

Dr Ronnie Harding FEIANZ, zoologist, Senior Visiting Fellow, Institute of Environmental Studies, University of NSW.

Dr Terry Hillman AM, ecologist, Adjunct Professor, La Trobe University, former Member, Murray–Darling Basin Sustainable Rivers Audit.

Prof Lesley Hughes, ecologist, Macquarie University, Councillor, Australian Climate Council, Lead Author, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Working Group II. 

Prof David Karoly, Professor of Atmospheric Science, University of Melbourne, Member, Australian Climate Change Authority, Lead Author, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

Prof Hugh Possingham FAA, Professor of Mathematics and Zoology, Centre for Australian Environmental Decision Analysis, University of Queensland.

Mr Robert Purves AM, businessman, Director, Purves Environmental Fund, President, WWF Australia.

Dr Denis Saunders AM, ecologist, Editor, Pacific Conservation Biology, former Chief Research Scientist, CSIRO.

Prof Bruce Thom AM, FAIG, FTSE, geographer, Chair, 2001 Australian State of the Environment, former Chair, Australian Coast and Climate Change Council.

Dr John Williams FTSE, agricultural scientist, former NSW Natural Resources Commissioner, former Chief, CSIRO Land and Water. 

Publication Details
Access Rights Type: