Council of Australian Governments


The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) is the peak intergovernmental forum in Australia. The members of COAG are the Prime Minister, state and territory First Ministers and the President of the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA). The Prime Minister chairs COAG.

COAG was established in 1992. Its role is to manage matters of national significance or matters that need co-ordinated action by all Australian governments.

Recently added resources


9 Aug 2019

This fourth COAG action plan sets out an ambitious agenda to achieve change and reduce domestic, family and sexual violence against women and children across five priority areas. It is written for governments, policy makers and community sector organisations, and provides an overview of the...


12 Dec 2018

The National Drought Agreement sets out a joint approach to drought preparedness, response and recovery. It replaces the Intergovernmental Agreement on National Drought Program Reform.

Other text

12 Dec 2018

In December 2016, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) agreed to refresh the Closing the Gap agenda ahead of the tenth anniversary of the agreement and four of the seven targets expiring in 2018. This statement responds to calls for the principles of empowerment and...

Discussion paper

27 Feb 2017

The purpose of this Accreditation Systems Review is to build upon the information collated through the NRAS Review and provide advice to the Ministerial Council on the governance, structure and cost-effectiveness of accreditation systems in the National Scheme.


28 Oct 2016

The Third Action Plan is part of a long term commitment by governments to work together to change Australia’s attitudes to, and tolerance for violence against women and their children.