Jane Halton


Jane Halton is Secretary of the Australian Department of Finance. She is responsible for essential services delivered by Finance including supporting the delivery of the Australian Government Budget, the ongoing management of the Australian Government’s non-defence domestic property portfolio and key asset sales. Finance is also responsible for the financial framework for Australian Government Agencies. Additionally, Finance provides entitlements advice and support to parliamentarians and their employees, maintains shareholder oversight for Government Business Enterprises, provides general insurance services to government agencies and promotes improved risk management. Finance also provides strategic advice, guidance and service provision for the productive application of new and existing information and communication technologies to government operations.
Jane is co-chair of the OECD Asian Senior Budget Officials (2014), a member of the executive board of the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington and on the Advisory Board of the Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE). She is also a Public Policy Fellow at the ANU Crawford School of Public Policy (2012­).
Prior to her appointment as Secretary of the Department of Finance in July 2014, Jane was Secretary of the Australian Department of Health. She was responsible for all aspects of the operation of the Department including the provision of advice on and administration of Medicare, the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme, Population Health, regulation of Therapeutic Goods, plus hospital financing and Private Health Insurance. She also had responsibility for leadership on health security issues, including matters related to bioterrorism.
Prior to ‘Machinery of Government’ changes after the September 2013 Federal Election, as Secretary of the Department of Health and Ageing, Jane was also responsible for all aspects of the Ageing portfolio. This included ageing research, policy for the promotion of active ageing and services for older people including their carers.
Jane previously held memberships of several boards including the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (2002-2014), the National E-Health Transition Authority (2005-­2014) and the Melbourne Institute Advisory Board (2007-2015). Jane was also a Commissioner of the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (2006­-2015) and Commissioner of the Australian Sports Commission (2008­-2010 and 2013­-2014), Jane was the Chair of the OECD’s Health Committee (2007-2013), and Chair (2013-2014) of the WHO Executive Board. She was an Executive Board Member of the World Health Organisation (WHO) 2004-2007 and 2012-2015, and President of the World Health Assembly (2007), and was Vice-Chair of the Executive Board 2005­-2006 and Chair of the WHO Program, Budget and Administration Committee 2005-2007. She was Chair of the WHO Intergovernmental Meeting on Pandemic Influenza Preparedness 2007­-2009.
Jane was a Commissioner of the Health Insurance Commission from 2002 to 2005 and was Chair of the Australian Obesity Taskforce (2003­-2006). She also chaired the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Council between 2002 and 2008. She was co­chair of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Group on Health between 2002­-2007.
Prior to her appointment in January 2002 as Secretary of the Department of Health and Ageing, Jane Halton was Executive Co-ordinator (Deputy Secretary), Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C) and was responsible for advising on all aspects of Australian Government Social Policy including the Status of Women.
Prior to joining PM&C, Jane Halton was national program manager of the Australian Government's Aged and Community Care Program with responsibilities for long term care.
Jane holds an honours degree in Psychology from the Australian National University, is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and an honorary fellow of the Australian College of Health Service Executives.
Jane holds the position of Adjunct Professor at the University of Sydney, and Adjunct Professor at the University of Canberra. She also holds a Doctorate of Letters Honoris Causa from the University of New South Wales.
She was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2002, the Centenary Medal in 2003 and the Geneva Health Prize in 2013. Jane was also the winner in the public policy category of the 2014 AFR/Westpac 100 Women of Influence Awards, and was the recipient of the Public Health Association of Australia’s 2015 President’s Award. Jane was a recipient of an Order of Australia Award in the 2015 Queen’s Birthday honours. Jane is married with two sons.

Recently added resources


20 May 2016

The Charter of Budget Honesty Act 1998 (the Charter) provides for the Secretary to the Treasury and the Secretary of the Department of Finance (the Secretaries) to release publicly a Pre‑election Economic and Fiscal Outlook report (PEFO) within 10 days of the issue of the...


21 Apr 2016

The Charter of Budget Honesty Act 1998 (the Charter) outlines arrangements under which the Secretaries to the Treasury and the Department of Finance (the Secretaries) may be requested to cost election commitments during the caretaker period prior to a general election. The Charter also allows...

Items authored 2