Electricity deregulation outside the New South Wales and Victorian markets

Deregulation Fair trading regulation Electricity demand Markets Power resources Australia New South Wales Victoria

The aim of this note is to outline some of the deregulatory issues that have occurred in recent years outside the dominant National Electricity Market (NEM) of New South Wales and Victoria. The NEM comprises New South Wales, Victoria, the ACT, Queensland, South Australia and following the completion of the Basslink interconnector, Tasmania. The focus is on developments in the smaller NEM markets of South Australia and Queensland and the distant and separate markets of Western Australia and the Northern Territory. This provides a supplement to the plethora of information on the principal markets of the more populous states.

Publication Details
Access Rights Type: