Oaths and affirmations made by the executive and members of federal parliament since 1901: October 2013 update

Federal government Democracy Local government Australia

After the federal election on 7 September 2013, members elected to serve in the House of Representatives and senators representing the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory will be sworn in on the first sitting day of the 44th Parliament. State senators will be sworn in on the first parliamentary sitting day after their term commences on 1 July 2014.

Members of the new parliament and the executive will choose to swear an oath or make an affirmation.

This paper explains the choice and its history. It also contains details of oaths and affirmations made by the Governor-General, the Prime Minister, ministers and parliamentary secretaries and members of the Federal Executive Council since 1901. Appendix 1 shows the number of senators and members who, since 1901, have made an oath or affirmation.

Publication Details