Dementia services pathways – an essential guide to effective service planning

Dementia Alzheimer's disease Health services accessibility Rural health Australia

This guide is to inform and assist jurisdictions with service planning, by developing dementia services pathways, to improve dementia services along the continuum of care for people living with dementia and their carers, from first symptoms or ‘first inkling’ to end of life.

The elements to be addressed to aid development of dementia services pathways are represented in each of the four management stages of dementia:

  1. Awareness, recognition and referral
  2. Initial assessment and diagnosis, and post-diagnosis support
  3. Management, care, support and review
  4. End of life.
Publication Details
License type:
All Rights Reserved
Access Rights Type: