Briefing paper

NSW Legislative Council election 2015

Elections Election results New South Wales
Attachment Size
apo-nid175606.pdf 1.11 MB

In this paper, election analyst Antony Green summarises the results of the 2015 election for 21 members to serve in the New South Wales Legislative Council. The publication is the latest in a series first published by the NSW Parliamentary Research Service after the 1991 election, and is a companion to the following papers:

Green A, NSW Legislative Assembly election 2015: Two-party preferred results by polling place, Background Paper No 2/2015, July 2015

Green A, 2015 New South Wales Election: Analysis of Results, Background Paper No 1/2015, July 2015

This publication provides detailed analysis of the 2015 Legislative Council election, with breakdown of above and below the line voting, of the distribution of preferences, as well as detailed Legislative Council party results by lower house electorates. The paper is divided into five sections:

Section 1: Contains the overall state-wide count, details of the distribution of preferences and details of members elected.

Section 2: Lists the Legislative Council results by party for each electoral district, also providing a summary of party vote by region.

Section 3: Provides more detail on the vote for each party by electoral district, with ordered tables of electorate results by party.

Section 4: Consists of summary tables comparing the vote for selected parties by electorate between the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council.

Section 5: Tables of past results 1978-2015.

Publication Details
Access Rights Type:
Background Paper No 01/2018