United Nations e-government survey 2020

Digital government in the decade of action for sustainable development
Digital divide Electronic government information Data access Access to information E-government Government services Information technology

The 2020 ranking of the 193 UN Member States in terms of digital government – capturing the scope and quality of online services, status of telecommunication infrastructure and existing human capacity – is led by Denmark, the Republic of Korea and Estonia, followed by Finland, Australia, Sweden, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, the United States of America, the Netherlands, Singapore, Iceland, Norway and Japan.

Among the least developed countries, Bhutan, Bangladesh and Cambodia have become leaders in digital government development, advancing from the middle to the high E-Government Development Index (EGDI) group in 2020. Mauritius, the Seychelles, and South Africa are leading the e-government ranking in Africa. Overall, 65 per cent of Member States are at the high or very high EGDI level.

The UN e-government survey is prepared over a two-year period, following an established methodology. It looks at how digital government can facilitate integrated policies and services across 193 UN Member States. The survey supports countries’ efforts to provide effective, accountable and inclusive digital services to all and to bridge the digital divide and leave no one behind.

Publication Details
License type:
All Rights Reserved
Access Rights Type: