Party leadership changes and challenges: a quick guide

Political parties Political leadership Prime ministers Australia

Since 2007 there has been a series of changes in the leadership of Australia’s largest political parties. For a party in government, this results in a change to the prime ministership, and since the November 2007 election Australia has had six prime ministers—Kevin Rudd (twice), Julia Gillard, Tony Abbott, Malcolm Turnbull and Scott Morrison (see Appendix A)—along with five Opposition leaders (Brendan Nelson, Turnbull, Abbott, Bill Shorten and Anthony Albanese).

This quick guide outlines the current rules relating to the election of leaders for the four largest federal parliamentary parties: the Liberal Party (LIB), the Nationals (NATS), the Australian Labor Party (ALP) and the Australian Greens (AG). Appendices provide prime ministerial changes since 2007 together with a list of the changes and challenges to leaders of the Liberal Party, the Nationals, and the ALP since the 1940s.

Publication Details
License type: