Attachment Size
apo-nid30685.pdf 2.48 MB

This paper identifies key economic facts and figures for Western Sydney, one of NSW's most significant economic, social and political regions.

Defining Western Sydney for the purposes of this paper involved a choice between two definitions: the NSW Government definition; and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) definition, as limited by their labour force regions.

The ABS definition was chosen in order to provide the most up-to-date employment data. Consequently, Western Sydney in this paper consists of 12 Local Government Areas (LGAs): Auburn; Blacktown; Blue Mountains; Camden; Campbelltown; Fairfield; Hawkesbury; Holroyd; Liverpool; Parramatta; Penrith; and Wollondilly.

These 12 LGAs are grouped into four labour force regions by the ABS: Central Western Sydney; Fairfield-Liverpool; North Western Sydney; and Outer South Western Sydney. Two LGAs included in the definition of Western Sydney by the NSW Government are therefore excluded from this paper's working definition - Bankstown and The Hills.

Publication Details